There’s something very fishy about the UK Agile Awards

Awards are a very interesting thing, especially the motivation for giving them. I’m particularly uneasy about the UK Agile Awards, which ran for the second time this year with the results being announced a few weeks ago. As far as I can tell pretty much all of this years winners have a relationship with one of the sponsors. Lets go through each of the winners and see:


Agile Project or Programme Manager of the Year: Chris Berridge

Works for Emergn, who were a sponsor.

Edit: Correction, Chris works for Maersk, who worked with Emergn, who were a sponsor.

Best Agile Project or Innovation: “Fixing the Flaws in Government IT” – The IfG Report 

IfG worked with Indigo Blue closely on the report, who were a sponsor.

Agile Consultancy of the Year: Indigo Blue

Who were a sponsor

Best Agile Team: The Guardian

Worked closely with Indigo Blue on their major redesign a year or so back, who were a sponsor.

Most Agile Aware Organisation: Simply Business

Not found a link, but not looked that hard. Anyone?

Edit: As per Paul’s comment below Simply Business are associated with Emergn, who were a sponsor

Most Engaged Management Team: IPC Media

A sponsor

Best Use of Agile in the Public Sector: DWP

Working closely with Emergn, who were a sponsor. I also find this one particularly irritating as they haven’t even delivered anything yet! As one of the principles of the Agile Manifesto states, “Working software is the primary measure of progress.”

Best Use of Agile in the Private Sector: BSkyB

Not found a link, but not looked that hard. Anyone?

Best Agile Coach/Mentor: Dot Tudor

Works for TCC, who were a sponsor.

Most Valuable Agile Player (UK)

Keith Richards, who was a sponsor.


I’ve no doubt that some of these organisations were approached after they were nominated, but looking at who the sponsors were for the previous year it’s mostly the same faces. Hmm.

Well… if it’s that easy then I hear by announce the Rob Bowley “Agile as Fuck” Award and the winner for 2011 is…




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *